Africa is well represented in the leadership of the Global Covenant of Mayor for Climate and Energy

Nine leading mayors, representing cities around the world, have been appointed to the board of the newly created Global Covenant of Mayors for Climate & Energy.

The mayoral leadership group includes:

  • Park Won Soon – Mayor of Seoul and President of ICLEI
  • Kasim Reed – Mayor of Atlanta
  • Patricia De Lille – Mayor of Cape Town
  • Mohamed Sefiani – Mayor of Chefchaouen
  • Anne Hidalgo – Mayor of Paris and Chair of C40
  • Mauricio Rodas – Mayor of Quito
  • Jaiman Upadhyay – Mayor of Rajkot
  • Tri Rismaharini – Mayor of Surabaya
  • Gregor Robertson – Mayor of Vancouver

Congratulations to all the mayors elected on the mayoral leadership group, with special consideration for Mrs. Patricia de Lille, Cape Town, South Africa; and Mohamed Sefiani, Mayor of Chefchaouen, Morocco, who represent Africa in this leadership.

The new organization was created after the Compact of Mayors and Covenant of Mayors merged in June last year.