Call for submission – Climate Initiatives Awards 2017: who will succeed to Sfax and Fezna?

After the first edition held in 2016 during the COP22 (Marrakech, 6-18 November 2016), Climate Initiatives Awards continues in 2017. The goal of the project is to identify a collection of climate initiatives that have the most significant impacts in the fight against climate change in term of adaptation and mitigation of their effects. Three categories of actors are concerned: local authorities, civil society and green entrepreneurs.

The call for Climate Initiative Awards 2017 is open from 17 February to 28 April 2017 and the participation is open only for French-speaking African countries. The awards will provide 10 prizes including 2 for local authorities (2000 euros per winner).

UCLG Africa as a partner of this initiative, is inviting its members to participate actively by submitting initiatives led by their municipalities.

Sfax (Tunisia) and Fezna (Morocco) were the winners of the 2016 edition of Climate Initiatives Awards. For 2017, the winners will receive their awards in Morocco during the 2nd edition of the Climate Chance Summit (11-13 September, Agadir).

To submit your initiative, you need to:

– Read the rules of the Climate Initiatives Awards 2017.

– Learn more about the initiatives already published online.

-Complete the form available here.

– The initiatives submitted must have taken place in the last 4 years (2013). The criteria of eligibility joined to the submission call here.

In 2016, 103 eligible projects submitted by organizations of civil society, green entrepreneurs and local authorities were registered.

The Climate Initiatives Awards is led in partnership with Swiss Cooperation (SDC), the Institute of Francophonie for  Sustainable Development (IFDD), the United Nations Programme for Development (UNDP Morocco), United Cities and Local Governments of Africa (UCLG Africa), Embassy of Canada in Morocco and GIZ.

For more information, write to