Dakar, Kinshasa, and Brazzaville Sign a Twinning Agreement

Cities of Dakar (Senegal), Kinshasa (DRC) and Brazzaville (Congo) have signed a twinning agreement on Wednesday 27 May 2015 in Kinshasa. Delegations from the three cities attended the signing of the agreement, which aims at strengthening the cooperation relations between the three signatories.

The Governor of the City of Kinshasa, André Kimbuta Yango, who has received his two counterparts in the City Hall, made it clear that this tripartite twinning agreement will allow the consolidation and the promotion of the good relations and multi-sector development between the three capital cities. Moreover, it will allow experts from all the parties to affectively manage conflicts.

In anticipation of this twinning ceremony, the Mayor of Dakar, President of UCLG Africa, took part in the 17thgeneral assembly of the Special Commission of Cooperation (COSPECO) between Kinshasa and Brazzaville, the proceedings of which, took place on the 25 and 26 May in Brazzaville. At this occasion, André Kimbuta decorated his colleagues Mayor of Brazzaville and Mayor of Dakar with the City of Kinshasa badges making them citizens of honor.

The tripartite twinning of Kinshasa is inscribed in the framework of an extraordinary general assembly of the COSPECO. The upcoming ordinary assembly will take place in August. This time, the Mayor of Brazzaville will succeed to the Governor of Kinshasa in charge of commission for a rotary two-year mandate.